Call For Paper (PDF), Submit your papers, Keynote speaker, Accepted papers, Technical Program

NFSP-13 Call For Papers

Cyberspace has been reshaped as an integration of businesses, governments and individuals, such as e-business, communication and social life. At the same time, it has also been providing convenient platforms for crimes, such as financial fraud, information phishing, distributed denial of service attacks, and fake message propagation. Especially, the emergence of social networks has raised significant security and privacy issues to the public. We have seen news of various network related security attacks from time to time, and defenders are usually vulnerable to detect, mitigate and traceback to the source of attacks. It is a new research challenge of fighting against criminals in the cyber space. The potential solutions involve various disciplines, such as networking, watermarking, information theory, game theory, mathematical and statistical modelling, data mining, artificial intelligence, multimedia processing, neural network, pattern recognition, cryptography and forensic criminology, etc.

NFSP-13 will be held at Philadelphia, USA, injunction ICDCS 2013, which is one of the top conferences in computer science.

Topics of interest include, but not limited to:

  • Anonymous system and forensics
  • IP traceback
  • Malware detection
  • Botnet identification
  • Networked video system
  • Biometric security and forensics
  • Emotion identification via video
  • Wireless network security
  • Game theory in network security
  • Data Mining for security
  • DDoS attacks
  • Virus source traceback
  • Malware source traceback
  • Botmaster traceback
  • Distributed systems and forensics
  • System security and forensics
  • Intrusion detection
  • Wireless network privacy
  • Information theory in network security
  • Multimedia in network security
Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings.  All paper submissions should follow the IEEE 8.5" x 11" Two-Column Format. Long Paper submission can have 10 pages plus up to 2 over-length pages. If the paper is accepted for publication, an over-length fee will be charged to each of the over-length pages, at $200 per page in the final camera-ready version. Short Papers, on the other hand, are allowed to be up to 5 pages. Papers will be selected based on their originality, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation assessed by at least three reviewers. Submission of a paper should be regarded as a commitment that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and attend the conference to present the work.

General Chairs
C.-C. Jay Kuo, University of Southern California, USA
Sherman Shen,University of Waterloo, Canada
Jie Wu, Temple University, USA

Program Chairs
Shui Yu, Deakin University, Australia
Honggang Wang, University Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA.
Xiaodong Lin, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Canada
Sushmita Ruj, Indian Institute of Technology, India


Technical Program Committee

Michele Colajanni

University of Modena E Reggio Emilia, Italy

Bin Dai

Huazhong University of  science and Technology, China

Lijuan Duan

Beijing University of Technology, China

Yong Guan

Iowa State University, USA

Sghaier Guizani

Alfaisal University, Saudi Arabia

Song Guo

University of Aizu, Japan

Martin Hell

Lund University, Sweden

Chengchen Hu

Xi’an Jiaotong University, China

Honggang Hu

University of Science and Technology of China, China

Lucas Hui

The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Yuming Jiang

Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Shuyuan Jin

Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Rajgopal Kannan

Louisiana State University, USA

Chin-Feng Lai

National Ilan University, Taiwan

Lifeng Lai

Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Lixiang Li

Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China

Ming Li

Utah State University, USA

Hong Liu

University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth, USA

Senlin Luo

Beijing Institute of Technology, China

Wojciech Mazurczyk

Warsaw University of Technology, Poland

Amiya Nayak

University of Ottawa, Canada

Yi Qian

University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

Abderrezak  Rachedi

University Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée,  France

Bimal Roy

Indian Statistical Institute, India

Jennifer Seberry

University of Wollongong, Australia

Bo Shen

University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA

Lei Shu

Osaka University,  Japan

Fabio Soldo

University of California, Irvine, USA

Yonghong Tian

Peking University, China

Michael Tschantz,

Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Kapaleeswaran (Kapali) Viswanathan

HP Labs, India

Jilong Wang

Tsinghua University, China

Wei Wang

South Dakota State University, USA

Yonggang Wen

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Shaoen Wu

University of Southern Mississippi, USA

Xinwen Wu

University of Griffith, Australia

Yi Xie

Sun Yat-Sen University, China

Liudong Xing,

University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA

Yang Xiang

Deakin University, Australia

Xun Yi

Victoria University, Australia

Shucheng Yu

University of Arkansas at Little Rock, USA

Guofeng Zhao

Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunication, China

Ying Zhao

Beijing University of Chemical Technology, China

Jun Zhang

Deakin University, Australia

Kai Zheng

IBM China Research Lab, China

Liang Zhou

Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China

Haojin Zhu

Shanghai Jiaotong University, China 

Shijie Zhou

University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China


Important Dates
Submission Deadline: Jan 31, 2013
Authors Notification: February 25, 2013 Extended to March 18, 2013
Final Manuscript Due: March 22, 2013












Dr Shui Yu's Web Site If your web browser does not automatically direct to my personal web site within 2 seconds, please manually type in